The Picture Book Buzz

Laundry Day - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

Who hasn't heard, or heaven forbid, remembers saying "I'm bored." What's your record? - The second day of summer vacation? The afternoon of Christmas? Maybe day one of Spring Break? It's a quintessential "call" of childhood. Usually a preamble to begging to go somewhere, or do something, or the creation of a monumental mess. Laundry Day is a humorous story of two badger kits who got bored. Laundry Day Author & Illustrator: Jessixa Bagley Publisher: Roaring Brook Press (2017) Ages: 3 - 6 Fiction Themes: Family, humor, creativity, and active children. Synopsis (From Amazon): “I’m bored,” said Tic. “Me too,” said Tac. What do two bored badgers do when they’ve done everything, including drivin

The Picture Book Buzz - Interview with Jessixa Bagley

Today, I am super excited to have Jessixa Bagley stop by to talk about her new book Laundry Day and share with us a bit about herself. On her website, Jessixa says - "Follow your dreams, kids! It's not just an empty saying." She should know, her dreams came true. Hello Jessixa, ME: Tell us a little about yourself. (Where/when do you write? How long have you been writing? What is your favorite type of book to write or illustrate?) JESSIXA: I’m originally from the suburbs of Portland, Oregon and I’ve been making books and comics since I was about seven or eight. I went to my first writers conference when I was in the 3rd grade - it was a writing conference for kids. So I’m basically the same

The Crane Girl - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

I enjoy many aspects of Japanese culture and their traditions, having visited the country a number of times. I am familiar with this folktale of a shape shifting crane and I was immediately captivated by the cover and Curtis Manley's description of the book during a local SCBWI PAL event. He mentioned that he had changed the ending and I couldn't wait to see what he had done. The result is amazingly touching and beautiful, especially when paired with Lin Wang's illustrations. The Crane Girl Adapted by Curtis Manley Illustrated by Lin Wang Publisher: Shen's Books (2017) Ages 5-8 Fiction Themes: Japanese folktale, haiku, animals, diversity, empathy, kindness, and friendship. Synopsis (From Ba

The Picture Book Buzz - Interview with Curtis Manley

I was immediately enthralled by the cover of The Crane Girl, published February 1, 2017. Knowing the basic tale, because my son works in Japan and has shared a number of the folktales with me, I was excited to read Curtis Manley's retelling. Especially after Kirkus gave it a starred review, saying that "more from this team would be a welcome addition to folk-tale collections." A fellow Pacific Northwest writer, Curtis has graciously agreed to join me for an interview and talk a bit about his newest book. Curtis's debut picture book, The Summer Nick Taught His Cats to Read, was published in 2016 and named Best Book of the Year by School Library Journal and the Chicago Public Library. His newe

Life On Mars - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

Killing time in my bookstore, the children's department manager hurried over, grinning broadly, and asked if I had seen this book. I fell in love with it immediately. It reminded me of the cartoons created when NASA sent the Rover to Mars. As the rover scanned the planet, Martians hiding behind a fake landscape tried to ensure NASA saw a barren, lifeless planet. What happens when a child goes to Mars to find life? Life on Mars Author & Illustrator: Jon Agee Publisher: Dial Books (2017) Ages: 4 - 8 Fiction Themes: Adventure, mystery, space exploration, humor and irony Synopsis (From Barnes & Noble): In this sneaky, silly picture book for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, an intrepid—b

If I Had A Little Dream - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

Trecking trough a blustery, torrentially rainy day, I fought my way to Nina Laden's book launch. After I dried out, it was a lot of fun. Surrounded by family, neighbors, and friends, Nina shared the origin and journey of this beautiful book. How it started with a song she sang around the house. And she hinted at a future picture book project with debut illustrator Melissa Castrillon. If I Had A Little Dream Author: Nina Laden Illustrator: Melissa Castrillon Publisher: Paula Wiseman, Simon Schuster (2017) Ages 4-8 Fiction Themes: Dreams, poetry, possibilities surround us. Synopsis (From Barnes & Noble): Nina Laden’s warm and lyrical picture book sees and appreciates through a child’s eyes

The Picture Book Buzz - An Interview with Jessica Petersen

I am fortunate today to have debut picture book author Jessica Petersen come by and share with us some insight on her process of photo illustrations and a bit about herself. Her picture book, Old Tracks, New Tricks, released last week. Kirkus describes it as "A jaunty rhyme and inventive toys-come-to-life spin on challenging the status quo , with especial appeal to fans of all things Thomas." Jessica: Thank you so much for inviting me to talk with you about Old Tracks, New Tricks. It’s been a very exciting week, with the first copies of the book going out. I’ve been so honored to see photos of kids getting inspired to play in new ways based on words I wrote and illustrations I created. ME: T

French Toast - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

The cover initially drew me to this book. Who can resist the maple syrup running over the French toast? The love on the faces of the girl and her grandma was so captivating, I had to see what it was about. This is one of those books where the illustrations and text remained with me long after I closed the cover. I hope you enjoy it too. French Toast Author Kari-Lynn Winters Illustrator François Thisdale Publisher Pajama Press (2106) Ages 5-8 Fiction Themes: Diversity, acceptance, bullying, imagination and self perceptions Synopsis (From Barnes & Noble): Phoebe—half Jamaican, half French-Canadian—hates her school nickname of “French Toast.” So she is mortified when, out on a walk with her Ja

#50 Precious Words Entry - New Neighbors

To celebrate the birthday of Dr. Seuss, Vivian Kirkfield created a challenge, "based on Bennet Cerf’s challenge to Seuss to write a children’s book using only 50 words" - #50 Precious Words. Here are the rules: You have until March 6th at 11:59pm to post your story. Here are the guidelines: #50 PRECIOUS WORDS WRITING CHALLENGE GUIDELINES Write a story appropriate for kids ages 12 or under, using only 50 words…they can all be different words, or you can use some of them over and over…just as long as the total word count of the story is 50 or less. It can be prose, rhyme, free verse, silly or serious…whatever works for you. Title is not included in the word count. No illustration notes please.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
iconfinder_goodreads_386638.png
CYBILS Awards

2020 Judging Round 2 PBs

Judging Round 2 PB &

Board Books

Follow Me
Contributing Blogger
STEMTues_edited.jpg

STEM books, resources, curriculum ideas, book reviews, and more.

Guest Posts
GROG - Goodreads How it Works...
                                 September 22, 2016
Categories
Tags
Children's Writing Resources
Archive
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2015 by Maria Marshall.  Proudly created with Wix.com

Proud participant in ...
Link to Nerdy Chick's Summer School Badge
Link to RhyPiBoMo Badge
Link to ReFoReMo Badge
Link ReFoReMo Badge
Link to PiBoIdMo 2015 Badge
Link to Chapter Book Challenge Badge