The Picture Book Buzz

Secrets I Know - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

Since Vivian is featuring Susanna Hill's fun new picture book - THE ROAD THAT TRUCKS BUILT, I decided to review another picture book that I fell in love with this week. Secrets I Know Author: Kallie George Illustrator: Paola Zakimi Publisher: Schwartz & Wade Books (2017) Age: 3-7 Fiction Themes: Nature, friendship, and imagination. Synopsis (from Barnes & Noble): Perfect for fans of Liz Garton Scanlon's All the World and Amy Krouse Rosenthal's I Wish You More, this charming, whimsical story about one imaginative little girl’s magical world is sure to enchant readers young and old. Follow the girl throughout a day spent in her own backyard, and you'll discover lots of secrets only she can

The Picture Book Buzz - Interview with Henry Herz Plus a Giveaway

Today we get to meet Henry Herz. Interestingly, he had the great fortune to write his initial books as joint projects with his two sons. As a very active member of the Kidlit community, he has spoken at SCBWI and writer's conferences, San Diego Comic Con, and Wonder Con. He has also been a guest blogger on Tara Lazar's Picture Book Idea Month (PiBoIdMo) and Angie Karcher’s Rhyming Picture Book Month (RhyPiBoMo). His newest book - Cap'n Rex & His Clever Crew (which releases TOMORROW) - and is the first picture book Henry has written on his own. Happy Book Birthday! ME: Welcome Henry, thank you so much for stopping by to share a bit about your new book and yourself with us. Tell us a littl

The Picture Book Buzz - Interview with Susanna Leonard Hill

It is my great pleasure to be a stop along Susanna's Blog Tour for her third book to be released this month - The Road That Trucks Built. It releases TOMORROW (7/25). On Friday - Be sure to swing over to Vivian Kirkfield's (https://viviankirkfield.com/) review of The Road That Trucks Built for #PPBF. Don't forget, Susanna's first blog tour for When Your Elephant Gets the Sniffles and When Lion Your Needs a Bath is still ongoing - be sure to swing over to: Laura Sassi Tales - laurasassitales.wordpress.com (7/24); Polilla Writes - lynnadavidson.com (7/25); and A Penny & Her Jots - pennyklostermann.com (8/3). And check out all the other stops for this tour: NOW for the reason we are all here t

Don't Blink - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

Strolling through the bookstore, looking for a mentor text for a critique partner, I glanced up and saw this cover. The face of the girl and the tortoise immediately captured my attention. Then I was teased by the extra four pages, of a girl balancing on rocks, before getting to the copyright and title page. Initially, the front pages brought back to me the joy I experienced balancing barefoot, climbing wobbly, precarious, slippery rocks along the Oregon coast. Visits to my grandparent's in Seaside, Oregon always resulted in hours at the beach and scrambling along the rocky shore. Then my writer brain took over and I flipped the page was immediately hooked into a fun interactive story. Thou

The Fox Wish - Perfect Picture Book Friday #PPBF

First and foremost, the winner of Renato and the Lion is - Elaine Eiden Asaidali. Congratulations, Elaine. Now onto this week's post: Who hasn't had a wish? But how many of us have had a wish come true? Did you get exactly what you wished for or just what you happened to need? Wishes, like fortune cookies, can be fickle creatures. Coming to fruition when they choose and in the manner they determine. And sometimes in the most unexpected way. Perhaps that's why the cover, with two kids watching foxes jumping rope, enthralled me. The title made me wonder if the kids were wishing to meet or play with a fox. Turns out the wish was very different. The surprise of the first wish and the twist endin

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
iconfinder_goodreads_386638.png
CYBILS Awards

2020 Judging Round 2 PBs

Judging Round 2 PB &

Board Books

Follow Me
Contributing Blogger
STEMTues_edited.jpg

STEM books, resources, curriculum ideas, book reviews, and more.

Guest Posts
GROG - Goodreads How it Works...
                                 September 22, 2016
Categories
Tags
Children's Writing Resources
Archive
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2015 by Maria Marshall.  Proudly created with Wix.com

Proud participant in ...
Link to Nerdy Chick's Summer School Badge
Link to RhyPiBoMo Badge
Link to ReFoReMo Badge
Link ReFoReMo Badge
Link to PiBoIdMo 2015 Badge
Link to Chapter Book Challenge Badge